Dr. H R Nagendra is the president of VYASA and Chancellor S-VYASA University He is now the Chancellor of S-VYASA Deemed University. He has received many awards and accolades including Bharat Gaurav Award, Padma shri and others.

 Dr. H R Nagendra holds PhD in Mechanical Engineering from IISc, Bangalore and is the president of VYASA and Chancellor S-VYASA University. After receiving his doctorate in 1968, he served as faculty of IISc in Department of Mechanical Engineering. He then served as Post-Doctoral Research Fellow in the University of British Columbia, Canada in 1969. Moved to NASA Marshall Space Flight Centre, USA as Post-Doctoral Research Associate in 1970, moved to Engineering Science Laboratory, Harvard University, USA as a Consultant in 1972 and Visiting Staff at Imperial College of Science and Technology, London later. In 1975,  joined Vivekananda Kendra, a service mission as a whole-time worker. Honorary Director of Training Centre, Vivekanandapuram, Kanyakumari. Between 1975 and 1993, served as the All India Secretary, Yoga Shiksha Vibhag, Vivekanand Kendra, Kanyakumari and between 1979-1986 also as Secretary, Vivekananda Kendra Yoga Therapy & Research Committee (VK YOGAS). Between 1993 and 2000, he was the All India Vice-President of Vivekananda Kendra, Kanyakumari. From 1986 to 2000, he was the Secretary of Vivekananda Kendra Yoga Research Foundation, Bangalore and the Director of Indian Yoga Institute, Prashanti Kutiram. From 2000 to the present, serving as President, Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana, Bangalore and from 2002 to 2013, he served as the Vice Chancellor of Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana, Yoga University in Bangalore. He is now the Chancellor of S-VYASA Deemed University. He has published 30 Research Papers in Engineering; authored and collected 110 papers on Yoga and co-authored 35 books on Yoga. He has guided nearly 20 PhD students. Currently Dr H R Nagendra is the Chairman, IDY (Internal national Day of Yoga), Experts Committee, Task force of AYUSH  (Ministry of Health &Family Welfare), SAC of CCRY (CENTRAL COUNCIL FOR RESEARCH IN YOGA AND NATUROPATHY).


Man of Excellence award by the Badaganadu Sangha Association, Bengaluru – 1994 

Yoga Shree award by Padmashri Yogacharya BKS Iyengar, organized by Bengaluru Yoga Association – 1995

Award by the Chief Minister, Government of Delhi for contributions in the field of Yoga Therapy – 1995

Recipient of Patanjali Award 1997 for the contributions in the field of Yoga by ISM&H, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India through Director, ISM&H in Bengaluru

Recipient of Bhaskar award for the contributions in the field of Yoga by organizers of Mystic India Exhibition, New Delhi – 1997

Nominated by the American Biographical Association for the Distinguished Leadership award for his service to humanity

National Citizen’s Award from the hands of Justice P N Bhagavati, Hon’ble Chairman, United Nations Human Rights Commission – 2001

Recipient of Bharata Ratna Sir M Visvesvaraya Science Award for the contributions in the field of Yoga Education and Yoga Therapy from Svadeshi Vijnana  Andholan, Karnataka – 2010

International Yoga Grand Master Award from Portuguese Yoga Confederation – 2013

Kannada Rajyothsava Award (for Organization) – 2010

Bharat Gaurav award in British Parliament – 2015

Global Peace Award in UNO hall from Sri Swami Madhavananda, World Peace Council, Vienna – 2015

Light of Yoga award from Hindu Students Council, New Jersey, USA – 2015

Alumni Award of IISc,  Bengaluru – 2015

Padma Shri award, Government of India – 2016

FKCCI Karnataka Award – 2016 Rotarian Award – 2016

Basavashree Award        -2017